Complete Count Commission

On April 1, 2020, a census mandated by the U.S. Constitution will be taken. The Virginia Complete Count Commission was established to serve as a trusted voice and resource to educate, empower, and engage communities to ensure that all of the diverse voices in the Commonwealth of Virginia are counted in the 2020 Census.

About the Virginia Complete Count Commission

The Virginia Complete Count Commission was established to improve the participation and representation of all Virginians in the 2020 Census. The Commission will facilitate the sharing of ideas and community resources regarding the 2020 Census as well as serve as a conduit between the Commonwealth and United States Bureau.


The mission of the Virginia Complete Count Commission is to serve as a trusted voice and resource to educate, empower, and engage all communities for the purpose of ensuring that everyone who lives in the Commonwealth of Virginia is counted in the 2020 Census.


Our vision is a thriving Commonwealth where everyone counts and every community matters; where every person who lives in Virginia has equitable access to opportunities, resources, and representation.

Commission Members

Jonathan R. Alger of Harrisonburg, President, James Madison University
Suja Amir of Henrico, Secretary, Asian Latino Solidarity Alliance of Central Virginia
Rev. Dr. Jonathan Barton of Midlothian, General Minister Emeritus, Virginia Council of Churches
Gilbert Bland of Virginia Beach, President and Chief Executive Officer, Urban League of Greater Hampton Roads
Jennifer Bowles of Martinsville, Council Member, Martinsville City Council
Rev. Kevin Chandler of South Boston, President, Virginia State Conference NAACP
Jim Dau of Henrico, State Director, Virginia AARP
Dr. James J. Fedderman of Accomack, Vice President, Virginia Education Association
Caryn Foster Durham of North Chesterfield, Durham Strategy + Consulting
Sarah Gross of Richmond, (former) President, Virginia Parent Teacher Association
Razi Hashmi of Fairfax, Member, Virginia Asian Advisory Board
Martina James Nalley, of Richmond, Virginia Association of Area Agencies on Aging
Margaret Nimmo Holland of Richmond, Executive Director, Voices for Virginia's Children
Dr. Tiffany Jana of Richmond, Chief Executive Officer, TMI Portfolio
Gaylene Kanoyton of Hampton, President, Hampton Branch, NAACP
Steve Kast of Poquoson, President and Chief Executive Officer, United Way of the Virginia Peninsula
Hyun Lee of Centreville, Director of Public Affairs, Korean American Society of Virginia
Eric Lin of Chesterfield, Immediate Past Vice-Chair, Virginia Asian Advisory Board
Ashley Reynolds Marshall, J.D. of Bedford, Executive Director, YWCA of Central Virginia
Sreedhar Nagireddi of Ashburn, Director, Volunteering Together for Service 
Giao “Genie” Nguyễn Thị Ngọc Giao of Prince William County, President, Voice of Vietnamese Americans
Beth O’Connor, M. Ed. of Blacksburg, Executive Director, Virginia Rural Health Association
Dr. William O. O’Hare of Cape Charles, President, O’Hare Data and Demographics Services LLC
Aida Pacheco of Mechanicsville, Member and former chair, Virginia Latino Advisory Board
James Parrish of Richmond, Executive Director, Equality Virginia
The Honorable Nancy Rodrigues of Surry, former Virginia Secretary of Administration; Deputy Director, 2019 Commemoration: American Evolution
Monica Dafney Sarmiento of Washington, DC, Executive Director, Virginia Coalition for Immigrant Rights
Terron Sims, II of Arlington, U.S. Army Veteran; Veteran and Military Families Advocate
Dr. Elda Stanco Downey of Roanoke, Founder and Chief Executive Office, Roanoke Spanish
Rita Surratt of Dickenson County, President/CEO, Dickenson County Chamber; Director of Tourism, Dickenson County
Reggie Tupponce of Glen Allen, Member, Upper Mattaponi Indian Tribe
Julian Walker of Chesterfield, Vice President of Communications, Virginia Hospital and Healthcare Association
Dr. Carah Ong Whaley of Harrisonburg, Associate Director, James Madison Center for Civic Engagement
Dr. Leo Whitaker of Richmond, Executive Minister, Baptist General Convention
Jonathan C. Zur of Richmond, President and Chief Executive Officer, Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities